आशय

घर रहेंगे,

हमीं उनमें रह न पाएंगे

समय होगा,

हम अचानक बीत जाएंगे

अनर्गल ज़िंदगी ढोते

किसी दिन हम

एक आशय तक पहुंच-

सहसा बहुत थक जाएंगे.

-Kunwar Narayan.

Published in: on October 21, 2007 at 7:23 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://satyavrat.wordpress.com/2007/10/21/aashay/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful poem- impressive blog. I had recently come across a poem in translation of Kunwar narain’s in english called “A Strange Problem”. Try as I might, I have not been able to find the original hindi version. Can you help? If you want, I can email the entire text to you.

    • Thanks.
      I will try to find out the original of the one you mentioned, but yeah you should tell at least a couple of stanzas.

      • Here is the entire text. Hope u enjoy it

        A strange problem
        By Kunwar Narain

        I have a strange problem these days
        The power to hate with all my heart
        Is ebbing by the day
        I want to hate the English
        (They ruled us for two centuries)
        But Shakespeare sidles up
        To whom I owe so much
        I want to hate the Muslims
        But Ghalib stands before me
        Tell me, is it possible to stand up
        To him?

        I want to hate the Sikhs
        And Guru Nanak fills my vision
        And my head is bowed
        And this Kamban, this Thyagaraja, this
        Muthuswamy…
        A hundred thousand times I tell myself
        They are not mine
        They’re from some place far South

        But the heart does not rest
        Till they are made mine
        And that lover
        Who betrayed me the first time
        I’d as soon kill her as look at her!
        I do see her, but
        Sometimes she is a friend
        Sometimes a mother
        Often like a sister
        And I drink from the cup of love, and am still

        All my days
        I wander like a madman
        In search of someone I can
        Hate with all my heart
        And ease it for a while
        But precisely the opposite happens
        Somewhere, sometime
        I find someone
        I cannot help but love
        Day by day, this disease of love is growing
        Rooted firmly in the fantasy
        That one day my love
        Will show me Paradise.

        (Translated from the Hindi by Pratik Kanjilal)

  2. This is a poem called एक अजीब सी मुश्किल (previously titled प्रेम-रोग), from the anthology called इन दिनों(2002).
    Hope that helps 🙂

    • Thanks. I’m impressed.


Leave a Reply

